The Maltsovs’ Museum of Crystal in Gus Khrustalny is considered one of the best museums of Russian decorative glass. It is located in a beautifully decorated building – the former St George Cathedral. The cathedral was designed by the outstanding Russian architect Leontius Benoit and built in 1892–1903. The famous Russian artist Viktor Vasnetsov was the author of a large-scale canvas representing The Last Judgment, the well-known mosaicist Vladimir Frolov created a gigantic mosaic “In Thee rejoice, full of grace…”
The majestic interior of the St George Cathedral is decorated with 10 massive columns of black labradorite, which are perfectly combined with the snow-white vaults of the cathedral.
The Museum of Crystal is a magnificent palace, where about 2,000 objects made of cut-glass and plain glass are exhibited. The first glassworks were built in Gus Khrustalny in the middle of the 18th century. Since then local glass makers have developed their own style and unique techniques of diamond faceting and chemical coloring in glass production. Passing by the show-cases with sparkling and glimmering exhibits one can trace the local dynasties of glass makers and glass decoration masters. There is an opportunity to learn about various techniques used to decorate plain glass and cut-glass items.
The Maltsovs’ Museum of Crystal is a historical landmark of the town of Gus Khrustalny, and causes a sense of delight and admiration among thousands of tourists.
The State Vladimir-Suzdal museum has temporarily stopped receiving visitors